Drum Roll, Please

 Drum Roll Please
Add to Goodreads

“A perfect middle-grade love story.”

Ami Polonsky, author of Gracefully Grayson

“A perfect summer read.”

School Library Journal

“Graceful and genuine.”

Publishers Weekly

A middle grade novel from Harper
Published June 2018
ISBN: 9780062791146
Available wherever books are sold.

A Junior Library Guild selection

Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat.

Melly only joined the school band because her best friend, Olivia, begged her to. But to her surprise, quiet Melly loves playing the drums. It’s the only time she doesn’t feel like a mouse.

Now, she and Olivia are about to spend the next two weeks at Camp Rockaway, jamming under the stars in the Michigan woods.

But this summer brings big changes for Melly: her parents split up, her best friend ditches her, and Melly finds herself falling for a girl at camp named Adeline. To top it off, Melly’s not sure she has what it takes to be a real rock ‘n’ roll drummer. Will she be able to make music from all the noise in her heart?

Praise

Drum Roll, Please is a perfect middle-grade love story. Bigelow artfully captures the complexity of middle-school relationships and, with a gentle hand, delivers a mighty message to turn up the volume on your inner drumbeat.”
Ami Polonsky, author of Gracefully Grayson

★ “Fun and substantial, readable and empowering, this is a master class in balancing real issues with a light-hearted tone. Bigelow’s compassionate take on family, friendship, and first romance hits all the right notes. A perfect summer read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer Holm.”
School Library Journal

★ “Bigelow has a graceful and genuine touch as her protagonist processes new experiences and navigates changes in friendships and family.”
Publishers Weekly

“Readers looking for an entertaining camp story, as well as fans of Victoria Jamieson’s Roller Girl or the Lumberjanes series, will get a kick out of this empowering book.”
ALA Booklist

“Fresh and exhilarating, a welcome addition to the growing middle-grade genre of girls who like girls.”
Kirkus

“A stunningly real story that had my eyes welling up with tears at points, laughing out loud at others.”
Candid Ceillie

“I loved this book.”
Danika Ellis, The Lesbrary

Cover art by Natalie Andrewson